What can not eat in Lent?
Lent is very important for the believer. He basically symbolizes the forty-day fast of Jesus Christ and carries the meaning of purification of the human soul from sins. This is a kind of preparation for the Great Easter.
You must know that you can not eat in the great post. In the list of prohibited products in the first place are animal products:
- Fish, meat;
- Milk, dairy products (sour cream, cottage cheese, yogurt, butter);
But in this category of products there is an amendment. You can eat fish in the Annunciation of the Most Holy Theotokos and Palm Sunday.
It is forbidden to drink alcoholic beverages in the Great post. With the exception of days such as the Triumph of Orthodoxy, the Entry of the Lord into Jerusalem and the Annunciation.
You can not eat in the great post sweet, including white bread and sweet pastries made from white flour.
Vegetable oil can be used only on Saturdays, Sundays and on public holidays. In the remaining days, its presence in the diet is not desirable.
You must know that the very first and the last week are the strictest during Lent. So on Pure Monday you cannot eat anything, you can only drink water. And on Friday, the first week of fasting, you can only eat colivo. Kolivo is boiled wheat sweetened with sugar.
There is a group of people for whom Lent can be mitigated - these are children, the elderly and the sick. The main thing before fasting is to consult with the priest that you can eat and what you should not.
Pregnant women should refrain from fasting so as not to harm the baby.